A few pictures of Super Bowl stuff in Houston

Ok, so my title isn’t exactly original but I didn’t have any special access, I wasn’t invited to any fancy red carpets or VIP parties, and hell, I was even hassled by security for having a camera so I’m not sure what to call these Super Bowl 51 related photos I took. I guess it’s more or less a “Common Man’s” experience of when the Super Bowl came to town. I’m sure it’s a quite different experience than someone who was rubbing elbows with Ross from friends and Lady Gaga.

Anyhoo, I came to Super Bowl Live at Discovery Green a week early and there was an army of out of town workers putting the stuff together

Super Bowl 51 Preprations in Houston

Super Bowl 51 Preprations in Houston

Super Bowl 51 Preprations in Houston

Super Bowl 51 Preprations in Houston

Discovery Green wasn’t the only place with changes. Throughout town, there were new decorations. Preservons la Creation was redone (some say sold out) with a Super Bowl reference:

"Preservons la Creation" Redone for the Super Bowl

All the bridges on the Southwest Freeway got new lights since the old ones that were paid for a long time ago never really worked.

Hazard Street Bridge Light

And just random stuff

Super Bowl Live at Discovery Green Park

Back at Discovery Green the following week, things were in full swing. I got hassled by security at the door because I had a DSLR and there was a no video rule. I told them I’m only there to take still photos and pointed out that every single person there with a phone had a much better video camera than myself in their pocket and many were taking videos without getting hassled.

Eventually the guy told me rudely that “If we catch you taking video, we will take your camera away, just letting you know”. That’s not how it works but I pick my battles. Oh hey, here are some people taking pictures…or is it videos?

Super Bowl Live at Discovery Green Park

Super Bowl Live at Discovery Green Park

Go Seahawks! Incidentally this photo got more likes than any other photo I have ever posted on instagram. Seahawks fan are hardcore.
Super Bowl Live at Discovery Green Park

This is my favorite photo. It captures the atmosphere perfectly. At least on the beginning. I heard the following Saturday was a madhouse and they had to stop letting in new people. While I was there however, things were relaxed.
Super Bowl Live at Discovery Green Park

Couldn’t resist taking another night shot…handheld this time because I didn’t want to cause more trouble by dragging a tripod with me.
Super Bowl Live at Discovery Green Park

Capped the night off by watching the Wild Moccasins.

Wild Moccasins' Zahira Gutierrez performing at Super Bowl Live in downtown Houston

On the weekend of the game, I didn’t even bother with Discovery Green and just opted for a small street event in Mid-Main
Mid-Main Party

Leave a Reply

