A few pictures from Chuy’s 28th Annual Children Giving to Children Parade in Austin

It had been a while since I checked in on Austin and the weather seemed nice for photography so I decided to get there at the crack of dawn (literally) and join a local photowalk. The sunrise photowalk didn’t really bring good results because I missed the good light. I was too late to get the nice dark blue twilight photo and when the sun did come up, the sky was cloudy so the lighting was very flat. This was the best I did.

Austin

The other leg of the photowalk was to take photos of Chuy’s 28th Annual Children Giving to Children Parade. This was the first I had heard of this event, but the event has apparently been going on for 28 years so my lack of knowledge was strictly due to my own ignorance. Still, you would think that news of this would have reached Houston at some point – hell, even a poster of it at a Chuy’s restaurant or something.

Anyway, this is actually a beautiful event. True to its name, I saw many children holding unopened gifts and at various points during the parade, they would hand them to the “Santa’s Helpers”. In addition, I saw many volunteers selling cheap foam antlers in blue or red for $3. At first I thought “what a ripoff! Those couldn’t have taken more than a few cents to make”, but once again, that was my own ignorance of the event shining brightly. It turns out the antlers raise money for the event and many in the crowd were happily buying one for each member of their family. As I said, this was a beautiful event.

My goal however was photos. I first checked out the staging area.
Chuy's 28th Annual Children Giving Children Parade

I also checked out them inflating the parade balloons with helium. Wait!!! I could have sworn I read somewhere that the world supply of helium will run out in 40 years and many medical and scientific instruments depend on it? What the hell, let’s fill up Smurfette.

Chuy's 28th Annual Children Giving Children Parade

The saddest thing in this photo is how Kung Fu Panda knocked the eff out of Super Grover and the crowd just watched and didn’t stop it.
Kung Fu Panda knocks out Super Grover. Chuy's 28th Annual Children Giving Children Parade

Don’t worry, Grover was ok when the parade started!

Chuy's 28th Annual Children Giving Children Parade

Kung Fu Panda continued to be a jerk however
Chuy's 28th Annual Children Giving Children Parade

Chuy's 28th Annual Children Giving Children Parade

It was a nice parade…you had Darth Vader

Chuy's 28th Annual Children Giving Children Parade

Girls in Santa outfits
Chuy's 28th Annual Children Giving Children Parade

Austin’s Finest
Chuy's 28th Annual Children Giving Children Parade

Coast Guard’s finest

Chuy's 28th Annual Children Giving Children Parade

Spiderman

Chuy's 28th Annual Children Giving Children Parade

Smurfette

Chuy's 28th Annual Children Giving Children Parade

And of course the people

Chuy's 28th Annual Children Giving Children Parade

That was pretty much my day. I wasn’t sure what to do and it was getting overcast so I decided to check out the Hope Outdoor Gallery

Hope Outdoor Gallery

Hope Outdoor Gallery

Oh and a peafowl. I saw a bunch of those!
Peafowl

Leave a Reply

