A few pictures of University of Houston’s Season opener & TEDCU Stadium

I’ve been wanting to take pictures of the new TEDCU Stadium at my alma mater even before construction was finished. My goal was to take a wide shot of the stadium with the downtown skyline in the background during twilight. I’m sure there will be many of that exact picture but I wanted to be first! In fact, I had been in contact with the athletic department to get access before it had opened, but since construction was not finished, we never got around to it.

Instead, the best I did was to just show up on a Sunday in the off season and take a picture of the exterior: TDECU Stadium

I did almost make it to the C-USA championship game a few years ago but instead decided to just enjoy tailgating:
Robertson Stadium

At any rate, I was happy to make it to this year’s season opener and finally take a few pictures of the new stadium. The game itself was a forgone conclusion and we were never in any danger of losing so I could just relax and soak it in.
As usual, the band has the coolest people and set the tone
University of Houston 2015 Season Opener

University of Houston 2015 Season Opener

The game itself was fun to watch too
University of Houston 2015 Season Opener

University of Houston 2015 Season Opener

Finally, I got my money shot! Maybe not the first person to do it, but this is what I had waited for – The downtown skyline as the backdrop to the stadium at twilight.
University of Houston 2015 Season Opener

I like this angle better actually but goal was to take a picture of the skyline and the skyline is best viewed in the above picture
University of Houston 2015 Season Opener

Then there was the band once again doing their Starwars set:
University of Houston 2015 Season Opener

University of Houston 2015 Season Opener

Leave a Reply

