A few pictures of Houston Pride Parade 2015

I was on the fence about going to the Houston Pride Parade this year given the move to downtown, but after last Friday’s Supreme Court ruling which legalized same-sex marriage in the US, I felt there was historic significance to this year’s parade which photography-wise, I live for, and on a human level, I wanted to show my support to the community and enjoy a big party. If you want all pictures (39 or something) go to my flickr album directly as I won’t be posting them all here. It is after all “A few pictures…” blog. I should also note that I didn’t post certain things at all online as it didn’t paint the subjects in a positive light.

When I first arrived, an hour early, the first thing that caught my eye was the giant chandelier type thing they had on a crane. I’m sure they did their homework as this was going to stand over a parade of people. I had a feeling this would look nice. 2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

The other thing I noticed was a group of religious people yelling out bible verses and such which did not go so well to say the least. For the most part though, arguments were civil though passionate. I’ll withhold my feelings on the appropriateness of coming to make people feel bad on the happiest day in the history of their people.
2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

And we wait.
2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration
and wait
2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

And wait
2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

The size of the crowd truly was amazing as everybody waited patiently.
2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

And it begins!
2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

I have taken many pictures of Mayor Annise Parker. I’ve photographed her at the candlelight tour, Art Car parades, other Pride Parades, and places that I don’t even remember. This day however was the most important, but as I had my camera over the head of the people in front of me, I tried to focus and it started hunting and so I missed the shot! This will bug me.
2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

By the time I recovered, it was too late!
2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

Twilight and rainbow colors- favorite things to photograph
2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

I wasn’t sure at first, but was that lightning in the background?
2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

Yup, that was lightning
2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

2015 Houston LGBT Pride Celebration

Leave a Reply

