A few pictures of Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival @discoverygreen #discoverygreen

The ability of the Discovery Green staff to bring wonderful performance arts to Houstonians for free is nothing short of amazing. Whether it’s Strange Fruit or Bruce Munro’s FIELD OF LIGHT, the talent that comes to this park does not disappoint. Because of that, when I first heard about Maravilloso!, I marked it on my calendar and added several reminders.

Photography-wise, the performance by Chanson d’eau has everything I look for – it starts at sunset, it is colorful, it has motion, and gives me a chance to try to capture it all while following the golden rule of photography and not being rude to any of my fellow audience members.

I got there early and scouted the best spot for the photography.
Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival
As you can see, the view of Minute Maid Park is gone and we have yet another building under construction. For anybody there to just enjoy the show, this is actually a nice spot as the show is directed at you. For me, I thought the other side would be better.
Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

This would give me a chance to get George R Brown, the Hilton, and the crowd in the picture.

Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

As far as stage entrances go, this has to be one of the coolest ones!

I am often conflicted about how to capture shows like this. On one hand, I can use my f/2.8 (or f/1.8 lens), crank up the ISO and have a fast enough shutter speed to attempt to stop the motion like these pics:
Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

On the other hand, I had my tripod, and I’m not just there to take a xerox copy of what’s in front of me so capturing the motion is also important:
This one is at .3 seconds shutter speed
Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

This one is at 1 second. I could go more, but then I think it would be too blurry.
Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

The other performance showcased at Maravilloso! is “Drench” by Karen Stokes Dance Co. I wish I could have taken more pictures of them, but they were on the other side of the park and I didn’t want to push people out of the way. I got this one by going over them (tripod can be handy even if I’m the one holding it)
Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

Following that, it was back to Chanson d’eau. By now, it was the final stage of twilight and the light was almost gone so there really wasn’t much choice to bump up the ISO and use a slower shutter speed. This would be impossible for me without the tripod.
Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

This show was on Friday 6-5-2015, and there is another show tonight (6-6-2015) I highly recommend it.

*UPDATE* I took my advice and went for day 2! This time I focused more on “Drench”
Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

I couldn’t resist taking more pictures of Chanson d’eau, but I mostly just enjoyed it without the camera.
Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival

One thought on “A few pictures of Maravilloso! 2015: The Water Festival @discoverygreen #discoverygreen

Leave a Reply

