A few pictures of Tour de Houston (2015)

After what seemed like an eternity, I finally got my camera back and had to go test it out. Fortunately in Houston, there is always an event to photograph. The Apache sponsored Tour de Houston bicycle event had been on my list for a couple of years so it was the natural choice and despite getting over a cold, I got up at the crack of dawn and headed to downtown. For any gear-heads in the audience, these were shot with the Nikon D610 and the 24-70mm f/2.8 and 14-24mm f/2.8 lenses (for the ultra wide angle shots like the one below).

2015 Tour De Houston

2015 Tour De Houston

If I would have got there earlier, I would have walked around more and took pictures of colorful individuals, but it was somewhat of a madhouse with last minute riders rushing in so I decided to focus more on the starting line area. I kind of wished I could have got everybody AND the buildings but even at 14mm (FX), the only way to do that would be to go vertical and it just doesn’t look right.

2015 Tour De Houston

Once again, I had a chance to photograph Houston’s Mayor, Annise Parker. This is at least a dozen times that I’ve done that but she’s always so busy and has people coming up to her that I have yet to say hi to her. Sooo, if you’re reading this Mayor, Hi!
2015 Tour De Houston

And they’re ready
2015 Tour De Houston

I am not terribly impressed by my starting photos – it was still dark and I wasn’t that graceful using the flash on a moving subject. I thought about just bumping up the ISO or perhaps doing a longer shutter drag to get all the motion, but maybe next year I will try that.
2015 Tour De Houston

2015 Tour De Houston

Because there were several groups of riders (60, 40, and 20 miles) and at least 5000 riders (judging by the numbers), I still had plenty of time to go further downstream on the track and catch the riders. I took a lot of pictures and deleted some redundant pictures but since I’m not trying to sell any pictures on here (although if you want a pic, I’m sure we can work something out 😉 ), I’m only posting pictures that I found a little different or if the riders were interacting with me and the picture came out ok.

2015 Tour De Houston

2015 Tour De Houston

2015 Tour De Houston

2015 Tour De Houston

2015 Tour De Houston

2015 Tour De Houston

2015 Tour De Houston

2015 Tour De Houston

They kept coming, I kept photographing and walking
2015 Tour De Houston

Overpass shots? Why not?
2015 Tour De Houston

I didn’t think they would see me, but it really was a fun group!
2015 Tour De Houston

This one is my favorite picture of the day. It tells the story of the event best – Happy people, doing a tour of Houston
2015 Tour De Houston

I was completely impressed by how well organized and how cool everybody from the riders to the organizers to the sponsors were. It had a completely different vibe than a certain “mass” bike event that happens on the last Friday night of every month.

Leave a Reply

