A few pictures of Bruce Munro’s FIELD OF LIGHT @discoverygreen

Sunday was the perfect day to be outside in Houston. In the morning I went to see Via Colori near city hall and after that, made my way to Discovery Green Park to see Bruce Munro’s Field of Light display which I had marked on my google calendar a few months ago.  I love low light and night photography and was curious how the display would turn out.   Would it be a few home center quality LED’s blinking dimly like fireflies or would it be something truly unique?  Well, judge for yourself.

I was there a little early- partly because I was tired of walking with all my gear at the 2014 Via Colori earlier in the day, and partly because I didn’t want to miss the opening ceremony. Even during daylight these fiber optic balls are something to look at.
Bruce Munro's FIELD OF LIGHT

And we wait for sunset:
Bruce Munro's FIELD OF LIGHT

Oh look, a gecko
Bruce Munro's FIELD OF LIGHT

Finally, it gets dark and the lights bloom
Bruce Munro's FIELD OF LIGHT

Bruce Munro's FIELD OF LIGHT

Bruce Munro's FIELD OF LIGHT

Being the opening night (well, it was actually the previous night but it was a rainy night so things got postponed), along with perfect weather, it was a very crowded space so I had to use my own judgement and not be overly aggressive in taking pictures so everybody would enjoy the lights. There was a band playing smooth songs.
Bruce Munro's FIELD OF LIGHT

Bruce Munro's FIELD OF LIGHT

Also a dance performance which I was filming but accidentally hit the shutter button and interrupted the video but got this motion picture which doesn’t look half bad. Bruce Munro's FIELD OF LIGHT

Bruce Munro's FIELD OF LIGHT

Here is a little video I shot and edited (poorly) of the event. I could have just used a sound track but there was already a band playing there and a performance so I tried to use the original music so excuse the weird fading:

The display will be up till February (maybe longer) so if you’re in the Houston area, go see it. For more information, visit http://www.discoverygreen.com/fieldoflight

And one more a couple of weeks later:
Bruce Munro's FIELD OF LIGHT @ Discovery Green

Leave a Reply

