A few pictures from Dock Dogs 2014 at Discovery Green #dockdogs @discoverygreen

I went to my first Dock Dogs at Discovery Green in June of 2008 and except for 2009, have made it back every time. Here are a collection of some of the pictures I’ve taken during that time. Last year was the first year they moved the event from late June/early July to late September and the only thing I can say is WHY DIDN’T YOU DO THIS IN 2008!?! The weather is much better for the event now. Before I go further, I should point out that all of these pictures are copyrighted and any copying or reproduction (other than linking to this full page or each individual image’s flickr page) requires my written permission. I can send you a full resolution un-watermarked copy with print rights too for a small donation.

Anyhoo, enjoy the pics.

Dock Dogs 2014
I like this picture a lot because the lighting was quite unique. The background had dark ominous clouds but the sun was still shining on the park so it created separation between the subject and the background and created a unique look as if I had big giant day light stadium lights on the pool.

Dock Dogs 2014
Black dogs are typically hard to photograph in detail, but with this light, I could have done this all day.

Hell, the light was so good, I thought I’d even create a sequence:

Dock Dogs 2014
Besides the dogs, I love seeing the reaction of their owners and the crowd:

Dock Dogs 2014

Dock Dogs 2014

Dock Dogs 2014

Dock Dogs 2014

Dock Dogs 2014
 

But at the end, the dogs were the stars:
Dock Dogs 2014

Dock Dogs 2014

Speaking of stars, there was a doggie costume contest on Saturday as well:
Doggie Costume Contest

Doggie Costume Contest

Doggie Costume Contest

Doggie Costume Contest

Doggie Costume Contest

Doggie Costume Contest

Doggie Costume Contest

And here is a little video to capture the mood of the event: I don’t do video obviously…

Leave a Reply

