A few pictures of the Reliant Park World Series of Dog Shows

Like in the previous years, I went to the Reliant Park World Series of Dog Shows to take pictures for the Texas Alaskan Malamute Rescue Association’s Weight Pull Competition (whew, that’s a mouthful). Also like last year, the idea is to raise money for this rescue group so I will only post a couple of pictures from that event itself so interested parties can make a donation rather than to get mine. It’s weird that people do that. I gave a few teaser pictures to the rescue group and as soon as they posted them on their facebook, I noticed someone had downloaded them and posted it on their facebook! Come on now!

Anyway, the lighting is always bad at NRG (formerly Reliant) and I can’t use flash during the competition so I do what I can. I set the white balance on Tungsten and maxed out the ISO to 3200, which got me a respectable 1/500th of a second at f/2.8. Towards the end when the weights were higher and the dogs were not bouncing around as much, I lowered it to 1/250 and lowered the ISO to get better quality, but of course, the D610 is more than good at 3200. I don’t really believe that we have to freeze motion for everything.

Case in point, in the picture below, the slower shutter speed captures the legs of this powerful little dog. I went with a rare black and white picture to remove any distractions and focus more on the sheer power of this animal.
2014 Reliant Park World Series of Dog Shows  TAMRAMCGHWeight Pull Competition

This team was last year’s winner but they came in 2nd this year. These dogs give everything they have and once they hit their limit, that’s that…they get a hug from their owner and go home. I thought this was a very sweet moment. I wonder if the dogs know they’re competing or it’s just exercise.
2014 Reliant Park World Series of Dog Shows

As usual, after the event, I walked around and saw dogs to photograph. This guy was hard to miss. It may be the same dog I photographed last year in a different design. I used flash on most of these and gelled it with a CTO gel and used the Flashbender. Almost like a portable studio light
2014 Reliant Park World Series of Dog Shows

2014 Reliant Park World Series of Dog Shows

This Great Dane was rescued at 7 months old by this gentleman. Look at him now.
2014 Reliant Park World Series of Dog Shows

2014 Reliant Park World Series of Dog Shows

2014 Reliant Park World Series of Dog Shows  TAMRAMCGHWeight Pull Competition

Leave a Reply

