Art League of Houston’s Newest Sculpture Garden and a Painting Party!

As you’ve noticed, I’ve changed the appearance of my blog quite a bit which is what makes WordPress so powerful. When I first started this blog, I was not that educated in what WordPress could do, so I may have been lazy in adding featured images and such, but going forward, expect quite a bit production value out of this blog. Please, hold off your enthusiasm! I am getting a nice stream of 30 or so visitors a day which is much better than the 2 or 3 I used to get so watch out Petapixel!

So anyway, if you’ve driven by the Art League of Houston, or had coffee at Inversion Coffee on Montrose, you may have noticed that every so often, there is a new piece of art hanging from the tree in the Sculpture Garden. Currently, Sexual Selection, by Jo Ann Fleischhauer is on display there. You can read about the work in detail here. The vibrant colors are a perfect match for summertime and really do remind me of the Birds of Paradise perching on the trees. Whether that’s how they find a mate is up to you to research. It will be our little secret, but you might want to clear your browser history afterwards.

Sexual Selection, 2014 by Jo Ann Fleischhauer

Sexual Selection, 2014 by Jo Ann Fleischhauer

What I was really there for however was to take a few pictures of the Funnel Tunnel getting a little touchup of new boards in a public painting party. It all started one winter night when I was bored and took this picture:

Funnel Tunnel

After that, I was asked if they could use the picture for promotional reasons and so I became part of the Funnel Tunnel family so-to-speak. Next, I came to the lighting ceremony of the Funnel Tunnel:
FUNNEL TUNNEL Lighting Ceremony

Because of that, when I read that they were going to paint more pieces and spruce up the Funnel Tunnel, I had to be there to snap a few pictures. Patrick Renner was there too so it’s always great to see an artist at work.

Funnel Tunnel painting party

Funnel Tunnel painting party

Everybody pitching in.
Funnel Tunnel painting party

Funnel Tunnel painting party

Funnel Tunnel painting party

Patrick himself
Funnel Tunnel painting party

Funnel Tunnel painting party

Funnel Tunnel painting party

Leave a Reply

