Another case of “Don’t be that photographer” and other weekend photography

I’ve been meaning to take a sunset picture of the Houston Police Officer’s Memorial with the Houston Skyline for a while now. The problem is it’s pretty crowded on weekends and it’s a little out of my way during the week. Friday happened to be the perfect day with beautiful clear weather and with the Good Friday holiday, there was low traffic and there was parking close by. Speaking of parking, there is always a squad car guarding the park and the added benefit is your gear will be safe in the car. Only problem was when I got there, this guy was standing right on top of the monument.
Don't be that guy
Now don’t get me wrong, this is a public space and there were dozens of other people coming and going and snapping a picture, but there is a difference between standing at a respectable distance and not disturbing others than being on top of it for over an hour. I’m not sure what he was doing but I’m guessing it was a time-lapse. He wasn’t even taking a picture of the monument and could have just as easily took a timelapse of downtown from the grounds. But no, he wanted that extra 7 feet of height. Well buddy, next time bring a ladder.

Houston skyline as viewed from Houston Police Officer's Memorial

So thanks to him, I missed the sunset and just took an evening picture. The foreground was much darker than the background so I decided to gel my SB-800 and add a little fill. It’s so subtle that it’s not even noticeable but trust me, it helped. The added bonus I hope was that it messed up the other guy’s time-lapse.

The only other photography I did this weekend was take a few pictures of the Austin based MilkDrive concert at Market Square Park in downtown Houston. Last time I took pictures there was using my 80-200mm f/2.8 and this time I had the 80-400 f/4.5-5.6 with VR. This is the sort of situation where f/2.8 comes in very handy but without VR, with the old lens I had to use faster shutter speeds and so even though I had to use a slightly higher ISO, I actually got away with using a slower shutter speed thanks to the VR. It’s not as if they’re moving fast so stopping motion at 1/160 is no problem.
MilkDrive

These shots were more than 200mm since I didn’t want to be “that guy” and get in front of everybody else 🙂
MilkDrive

MilkDrive

With random colors, black and white comes in handy
MilkDrive

MilkDrive

MilkDrive

Leave a Reply

