Photographs of Alaskan Malamutes in Houston

Alaskan Malamutes in Houston
From time to time, the Texas Alaskan Malamute Rescue Association asks me to photograph their rescued dogs for a calendar when they’re doing one in the Houston area. I got started with this in 2008 right after Hurricane Ike and have done 3 calendars so far. Because the idea is for the calendars to raise money for the rescue group (and you should donate to their webpage if you can), I usually only post a few teaser pictures as to not give them away, but since enough time has passed now, I thought I’d post a few from the 2012 calendar which were taken in September of 2011. That was a truly exhausting day as we walked all over downtown in a hot day, had dogs who were not very cooperative at times, and on top of everything, I had to go out of town (to Temple, TX) afterwards (for another long story) so I am pretty proud of how the day went all around.

I noticed they were posting pictures of some their rescue success stories as part of their 11th year anniversary so I wanted to post a few of my favorites. All taken with the Nikon D90 and either the 85mm f/1.8D (which I have now upgraded to 85mm 1.8G) and the 14-24mm f/2.8. I also had help with people holding the light or reflector for me and with proper lighting, the D90 gave beautiful results. By the way, all of these are copyrighted and registered at the copyright office so you know, don’t steal 🙂

Alaskan Malamutes in Houston

Alaskan Malamutes in Houston

Alaskan Malamutes in Houston

Alaskan Malamutes in Houston

Alaskan Malamutes in Houston

Alaskan Malamutes in Houston

Alaskan Malamutes in Houston

Alaskan Malamutes in Houston

Malamutes!

Leave a Reply

