Pictures from the FUNNEL TUNNEL Lighting ceremony

FUNNEL TUNNEL Lighting Ceremony

If the two or three of you who read this blog recall, one night last year, I was kind of bored so I went and took some pictures of the Funnel Tunnel on Montrose. Shortly after, the Art League of Houston asked me if they could use my picture for promotion at the Contemporary Art show in George R Brown Convention Center and I was happy to do so. I’m not ok with just giving away my pictures to commercial publications and such, but since the Art League and artist Patrick Renner (pictured in the photograph below) were nice enough to put this for the enjoyment of the city, I did not hesitate.

When I first met the good folks in the ALH, we were chit chatting about possible ways to light this sculpture and the challenges of not having a power source there so I was happy to find out they had found an LED solution and a generator and finally lit this thing up tonight. I wish I had more firepower than my Nikon D90 while I wait to replace my D600, but with night shots, a sturdy tripod, pro lenses, and of course, good technique are great equalizers so I’m happy with the results.

It was also awesome to meet the artist Patrick Renner himself who somehow knew who I was!

FUNNEL TUNNEL Lighting Ceremony

FUNNEL TUNNEL Lighting Ceremony

FUNNEL TUNNEL Lighting Ceremony

FUNNEL TUNNEL Lighting Ceremony

One thought on “Pictures from the FUNNEL TUNNEL Lighting ceremony

Leave a Reply

