Photographs of the 2014 Chevron Houston Marathon

Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

The weather was much better this year so despite only having my old Nikon D90 while I await my decision on my next full frame camera, I decided to once again go and take some pictures. The D90 did its best to handle the very harsh day lighting mixed with shadows, but I couldn’t help but notice my old D600 could have handled the situation much better. Of course, with so much blue skies, I’d probably have to remove oil spots from the picture too so I’m not complaining too much. I didn’t have much time to set up before the leaders started coming down Post Oak Blvd. near the 14th mile marker:

I was fortunate enough to catch Bazu Worku (the eventual winner) running behind the pacemakers (or rabbits as they’re known in the marathon biz). These guys are very fast and even though they had ran for 14 miles, were still going full stride and faster than most mere mortals.
Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Shortly after the leaders, the other strong top finishers followed. At this point, I could focus on individual runners.
Patrick Rizzo
Patrick Rizzo @ Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Desta Bebrehiwet
Desta Gebrehiwet @ Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Desta Gebrehiwet @ Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

This fellow had his own pacer but I could not find his name in the database.
Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Antonios Papadimitriou, Jeremy Daum, and Adam Macdowell
Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Tim Young, Luke Humphrey, and Benjamin Ashkettle
Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Soon the female leaders (and male runners with pacers and such) arrived. Here I could look up Stewart Harwell, Makda Haji, Meskerem Assefa, Gelete Burka, Abebech Bekele (eventual winner), Degefa Biruktait, and others being cheered on by the Texas Lovin Cloggers.
Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

The Cloggers were there for many hours dancing and cheering the runners from the fastest of the fast to the slowest of the bunch (which are still in better shape than you and I)
Texas Lovin Cloggers cheering on the runners at Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

After that, I tried to isolate individual runners but gave up and just tried to get interesting pictures. I wasn’t paid to be there after all so I didn’t just want quantity.

Dean Bradley @ the Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Clark Matthew, AKA Superman @ Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Kaytlynn Welsch @ Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

This one was taken at the 16th mile marker in the Tanglewood area. By then, I was tired and hungry so I went home. I was’t running after all.
Chevron Houston Marathon 2014

I took many more pictures so if you’re curious, tell me your name/tag # and I can see whether I have a picture of you- especially early half.

Leave a Reply

