Pictures of the 2013 Uptown Houston Holiday Lighting

I gotta say that I’m not a huge fan of the overly commercialized holiday season but I seem to have developed certain habits that are becoming a tradition. One such thing is the Uptown Holiday Lighting ceremony in the Galleria area of Houston. I’ve made it the last 3 years and I think 5 years ago too. These were last year’s pictures which was the first year I used the D600 which despite its issues (I just got it back from Nikon after a shutter replacement due to the dust spots), is brilliant for these types of horrible conditions. I had my nexus 5 with me as well and just for fun I decided to take pictures using the camera phone but while a good camera phone, the N5 couldn’t handle f/1.4 and ISO 6400.

Using my ol D90 and a tripod, my pictures were not too bad considering it was pouring rain on my gear. Still, the D90 lacked the dynamic range of the D600. With the D600, all these pictures were handheld so I could easily use a fast enough shutter speed to handhold. With fireworks, I think the fireworks also has a motion stopping power much the same way as flash does so even hand-holding at 1/25 of a second produces sharp objects at a long distance. Anyway, here are the pictures. And to the short gentleman in front of me annoyed that I was too close to him, get over it sir. There was easily 15,000 people there all bunched up together so as long as I didn’t use his head as a duo-pod, he should shut his big yapper.

Uptown Houston Holiday Lighting 2013

Uptown Houston Holiday Lighting 2013

Uptown Houston Holiday Lighting 2013

Uptown Houston Holiday Lighting 2013

Uptown Houston Holiday Lighting 2013

This is kind of interesting. These folks rent out the patio rooms at the Hilton a year in advance so they can watch the show and fireworks. For some, they have done this for decades! They also have a contest to see who has the best decorations. Let’s face it, you have to have the means to be able to do this sort of thing (Hilton ain’t cheap) but if you can swing it, it’s gotta be a lot of fun for the kids and a fun tradition to have.

Uptown Houston Holiday Lighting 2013

3rd Place!
Uptown Houston Holiday Lighting 2013

2nd Place!
Uptown Houston Holiday Lighting 2013

The winners!
Uptown Houston Holiday Lighting 2013

And of course, back to the fireworks and the reason why i was there. I love the expression that kid’s face.

Uptown Houston Holiday Lighting 2013

One thought on “Pictures of the 2013 Uptown Houston Holiday Lighting

Leave a Reply

