Australia’s Strange Fruit Swoon visits Houston’s @discoverygreen Park

One of the reasons why I love photographing local events is that in addition to capturing interesting people and performances, I also take a snapshot of the city itself in the background.

Case in point, this weekend the amazing performers from Australia’s Strange Fruit (no, not from the morbid song…they’re from Australia, it’s just a silly name) were at Houston’s Discovery Green Park in the heart of downtown. I had the pleasure of watching them back in 2009 and had some cool pictures:
Strange Fruit

Strange Fruit

Notice the building in the first picture? Now look at the pictures from this weekend’s performance:

Australia's Strange Fruit

The building is all done now!

Australia's Strange Fruit

Australia's Strange Fruit

For the above night shot, I did a long exposure on a moving subject on purpose to try to convey motion. In the other night shots, I used a faster shutter speed and bumped up the ISO to try to freeze the motion (though realistically 1/160 is not fast enough).

Australia's Strange Fruit

The story line was love, jealousy, and tragedy as it was in 2009. This year however it was a little more on the dark side as you will see.
Australia's Strange Fruit

Australia's Strange Fruit

Australia's Strange Fruit

So he loses the girl and the fight…not a good day brah. Not a good day.
Australia's Strange Fruit

Watching the kids in the audience was very amusing. This must have been the coolest thing for them. Hell, it’s pretty cool to me and I’m old.
Australia's Strange Fruit

I don’t know what the backgrounds of the performers are, but they are truly talented artists.
Australia's Strange Fruit

Australia's Strange Fruit

I like this shot. It has a foreground and the forground frames the background.
Australia's Strange Fruit

I think I was a little TOO close to the action which on one hand puts the audience right in there, but on the other hand makes for an extreme angle.
Australia's Strange Fruit

For the night shots, I changed my location. It wasn’t because the lighting would be better (which it was) nor because the angle was better for the action (which it was). I moved because an inconsiderate man decided to stand right in the front row with people sitting behind him. If that wasn’t bad enough, he had his kid on his shoulders too blocking the view. It worked out better for me at the end so I should thank him, but I won’t.

Australia's Strange Fruit

It’s a shame that the Nikon D600 has a bad reputation now because it takes remarkable pictures in horrible low lighting conditions.
Australia's Strange Fruit

Australia's Strange Fruit

Australia's Strange Fruit

Australia's Strange Fruit

Australia's Strange Fruit

2 thoughts on “Australia’s Strange Fruit Swoon visits Houston’s @discoverygreen Park

Leave a Reply

