Photographs of a Beautiful Sunset and Fireworks at Moody Gardens, Galveston

I love photographing anything that is interesting and gives me an excuse to experience something new. One of my favorite subjects has been fireworks since it’s always different and as posted Here ,  Here , and Here  , I feel that I’ve improved a lot -if I do say so myself.

After 5 years (maybe more) of taking fireworks pictures, the person responsible for the last 4th of July show ran across the pictures of her show on this blog (hey, maybe the total readership is up to 4 instead of the usual 3!) and so I got the chance to be an honorary helper and see how the pros do it. I wasn’t going to turn down this opportunity! Obviously, there are very strict rules and regulations for this. Everything is done by the books and performed under the supervision of the Fire Marshal and clearing out the area is a well coordinated effort.

The recipe for shooting fireworks for me has been that there should always be an interesting foreground or background to the fireworks whether it’s buildings, people, or statues as was the case in the last 4th of July. This time, I am doing more of a behind the scenes. I was too close to the show to capture the results of the fireworks in any meaningful way so I wanted to capture the process and focus more on the trailer. Few people get to see this up close.

These shells are triggered electrically and the operator chooses which order to fire them in. Each shell is assigned a number on a control board and connected:

Preparing professional fireworks
Preparing professional fireworks

Preparing professional fireworks

Then you get to enjoy the sunset:
Galveston Sunset

Notice how the sky looks like a painting
Galveston Sunset

Watch the Colonel sail off:
Colonel Paddlewheel Boat

The Colonel Paddlewheel Boat

And then, watch the fireworks
Fireworks Trailer firing

Fireworks Trailer firing

Fireworks Trailer firing

Fireworks Trailer firing

Fireworks Trailer firing

Thanks again for letting me come along!

One thought on “Photographs of a Beautiful Sunset and Fireworks at Moody Gardens, Galveston

Leave a Reply

