Pictures from Pride Parade Houston 2013. Photographs also!

There were two night events that I was interested in photographing this past Saturday. One was the Electric Run – a private event where they go to different cities charge people to run at night with pretty lights and such. I obviously wasn’t going to run in a day that was 106 degrees and evening that close to the 90’s, but I had emailed them to see whether I could get a media pass to photograph them. I told them that I have this blog which somehow is actually getting a steady visitor list which would promote the event along with my personal facebook, flickr, and other places and I would do all that in exchange to have access. I sent that email last year and a polite fellow answered and told me to check back when it was closer to the event in town. I wrote them a few weeks ago and this time got no response. I hope they enjoy the blurry cell phone pictures I saw other people who were at the event posted.

The other event was the annual Pride Houston Parade. This event was held on the weekend following the historic Supreme Court decision to end DOMA so it was great that I got to capture some of the energy of the event. The parade started at 8 pm and like my last event, I had to deal with the light diminishing rapidly. As usual with my pictures, it starts with the prep work and then builds up.
Getting ready
2013 Houston Pride Parade

Majestic creatures ain’t they?
Houston Mounted Patrol

2013 Houston Pride Parade

2013 Houston Pride Parade

This is the 5th or 6th time I’ve taken a picture of Houston’s mayor. I should probably say hi next time or shake her hand.
Houston Mayor Annise Parker at the 2013 Houston Pride Parade

2013 Houston Pride Parade

Frank Billingsley at the 2013 Houston Pride Parade

2013 Houston Pride Parade

2013 Houston Pride Parade

2013 Houston Pride Parade

Technically, one of my favorite pictures. There was still enough light to not need flash yet provide a nice sky and the fire truck had all its lights on.
2013 Houston Pride Parade

Artistically, my favorite picture. I was tracking her motion with my camera and at 1/160th shutter speed, it created just enough motion blur in the background while keeping her in focus. I used the flash to bounce on the tree leaves behind me for just a bit of subtle fill light. Yes, it was dark enough for the flash to show up while bounced from a freaking tree!

2013 Houston Pride Parade

2013 Houston Pride Parade

I love taking pictures of random dogs.
2013 Houston Pride Parade

2013 Houston Pride Parade

2013 Houston Pride Parade

Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee. I think I’ve photographed her 3 times now
Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee at the 2013 Houston Pride Parade

Parade was winding down. This is available light at ISO 6400 in a very dark corner. I have no regrets in buying the Nikon D600 now.
2013 Houston Pride Parade

Show was over but I saw this distinguished gentleman on the way back to my car:

Random dog at the 2013 Houston Pride Parade

Leave a Reply

