Photographs of Kaminari Taiko of Houston performing at the Rothko Chapel

Kaminari Taiko of Houston at the Rothko Chapel
I’ve been pretty busy with other things in the last few weeks so I hadn’t had a chance to just get out and shoot. Last weekend I had a little break and decided to take some timelapses but I don’t think that counts. Fortunately, this time of the year, there are plenty of great events to photograph in Houston.

Last night, Kaminari Taiko of Houston was performing at the Rothko Chapel to celebrate the summer solstice so I went. The challenge was that the show was to begin at sunset, outside so it would not only be dark, but would rapidly get darker. I held off using my flash until they turned on some temporary hanging lights and only then bounced my flash from the tree branches above the drummers. Without the flash, these pictures would have been garbage, but since I was already shooting at ISO 6400 f/2.8 and between 1/120-1/200 , my flash would be even weaker than that lights so any distraction would be minimal. Heck, the kids running around in front of the performers were a bigger distraction…I hope. Since the only available lights in the pics were very warm tungsten bulbs, I put a CTO gel on my flash to balance it out. Yes, I have those with me at all time.

Kaminari Taiko of Houston at the Rothko Chapel

Kaminari Taiko of Houston at the Rothko Chapel

Kaminari Taiko of Houston at the Rothko Chapel

Kaminari Taiko of Houston at the Rothko Chapel

Kaminari Taiko of Houston at the Rothko Chapel

Amazing what a little light can do for a photograph
Kaminari Taiko of Houston at the Rothko Chapel

When the white balance is Tungsten, anything white turns blue and anything blue turns very blue!
Kaminari Taiko of Houston at the Rothko Chapel

By now it’s pretty much all dark outside
Kaminari Taiko of Houston at the Rothko Chapel

Kaminari Taiko of Houston at the Rothko Chapel

At the end, once they were walking around, I turned the flash off and dropped my shutter speed as much as I could to get more light. Still impressive what the Nikon D600 can do in low light

Kaminari Taiko of Houston at the Rothko Chapel

Here is a short video clip so you can imagine them while you look at the pictures:

Leave a Reply

