Photos from an afternoon in Dallas

My philosophy is to never let a road trip go to waste photography-wise. Most major cities have at least one landmark that has been photographed thousands of times so of course you should do your best to photograph it and have your own version; however, some landmarks are relatively new so you can be one of the first to do it. This is why I was excited to take a picture of the newest member of the Dallas skyline, the Margret Hunt Hill Bridge.

Because of this, I did some scouting and saw some other pictures others had taken to see where a good location would be. I even did a google street view of the area which looked kind of shady and unfinished, but surely, it would be done by now. A lot of the pictures of the bridge I saw had water reflecting the lights at night but as it turns out, there isn’t much water there unless it’s been raining recently. I decided to drive by there in the afternoon to see what I had to work with and this was it:

Margaret Hunt Hill Bridge in Dallas

Kind of a scary area really…no parking, no nothing. Someone would have to be crazy to go there at night with thousands of dollars worth of camera gear…stupid even! Well, call me stupid, because I think this shot was worth it. I wanted to make sure to get the iconic Dallas buildings – that big ball, the green building, and the one with the zig zag (Reunion Tower, Bank of America, and Renaissance Tower) to show up in the background.
Margaret Hunt Hill Bridge in Dallas

I took the picture one time, but as I was leaving saw that the green neon lights of the Bank of America building were off and had just turned on…I was tired and felt a bit unsafe but I thought I’d be kicking myself if I didn’t retake the picture.

Earlier in the day this was my favorite picture in the Dallas Museum District:

JPMorgan Chase Tower in Dallas

JPMorgan Chase Tower in Dallas

Dallas Museum District Street and Uptown photography

Random Downtown buildings

Dallas Museum District Street and Uptown photography

Dallas Museum District Street and Uptown photography

Dallas Museum District Street and Uptown photography

George W. Bush Presidential Center:
Southern Methodist University

George W. Bush Presidential Center

Sunset over Dallas from the SMU campus
Southern Methodist University

Not to be forgotten, good old Sam Houston in Huntsville, TX is a nice resting place before a long road trip.
Big Sam Houston Statue

Big Sam Houston Statue

Leave a Reply

