Bridges of Harris County Photos

For photographing unique angles, nothing beats walking or biking to places that you can’t take a car. Usually by the time you find a parking spot, the moment is gone and a lot of times, you don’t know what you don’t know. Near Houston’s downtown there is a pedestrian bridge called Rosemont Bridge that connects Memorial and Allen Parkway. I was there on the 4th of July actually with a telephoto lens but this time I went to the other corner of the bridge and noticed the view of the first bridge (Yes, I know that makes no sense). I really liked how the trees and the bridge framed the downtown skyline in a distance and thanks to the D600’s dynamic range, I was able to show both the downtown and the view below:
Rosemont Bridge

On the way back, I stopped by Waugh Street Bridge where the bat colony is. I was there a couple of years ago too where I lost my old 50mm 1.8 lens so this time with just one lens, I was careful to not do anything stupid…Again, thanks to the D600’s high ISO capabilities, I was able to freeze the bats rather well with 1/2000 (or 1/4000) shutter speed
Waugh Street Bridge Bat Colony

Leave a Reply

