Pictures from the 2013 Norooz (Nowruz) Festival @discoverygreen

Goldfish as part of the Sofreh Haft Seen

Before anybody corrects me, there are several ways to spell Norooz and to me, Nowruz makes no sense using American pronunciation (nouˈɾuːz). This was my third Noruz (I kind of like this version too) and to be honest, there wasn’t a whole lot to photograph that I hadn’t seen in the last 2 so I mostly just ate some food and saw who I would run into that I knew. Sofreh Haft Seen (The tablecloth of the seven S’s) was a given of course as are the foods and stuff for the kids to do, but this year wasn’t as upbeat as I remember. There WAS a sudden cold front that moved in which by Houston standards was cold and windy but there was more to it. All due respect to the kids’ performances, after the 1st, 2nd and 3rd performances, it mostly becomes interesting to the parents and grand parents of the kids and not so much for the other ticket buyers. Again, all due respect.

I hope next year they have an opening band to the main performer like they have in the past and perhaps cut back on the chit chat and mix things up. Anyhoo, Here is the Sofreh Haft Seen.

Sofreh Haft Seen

Shahrzad Dance Company performed as well though I could tell they were kind of cold.
Shahrzad Dance Company performing at Norooz (Nowrūz) 2013 celebration at Discovery Green Park

Shahrzad Dance Company performing at Norooz (Nowrūz) 2013 celebration at Discovery Green Park

Speaking of Children’s performances, I thought it was cute how their teacher was directing them.
NOT the Cupid Shuffle

Norooz (Nowrūz) 2013 celebration at Discovery Green Park

More Shahrzad Dance Company
Shahrzad Dance Company performing at Norooz (Nowrūz) 2013 celebration at Discovery Green Park

And finally the timeless Leila Forouhar. She braved the wind and the cold and put on a great show and went to greet her fans too.
Leila Forouhar

I am usually defender of other photographers but there seemed to be too many cooks in the kitchen to where it was a little distracting. The official photographers and video people I understand (especially given that this was sort of unexpected and they had to scramble), but throughout the show there were people ON stage with little point and shoot cameras and even an ipad!
Leila Forouhar

Leave a Reply

