Pictures from 2013 Buffalo Bayou Regatta (Reeking Regatta) @BuffaloBayou

The first (and last) Reeking Regatta I took pictures of was in 2009, but I wasn’t sure what to expect so I just covered the starting line. In 2009, it was a cloudy day so my D90 at the time had absolutely no troubles with the pictures. This was a favorite from 2009:
Reeking Regatta

In fact, I found that it was used in their newsletter which is still up! They of course asked permission. I’m not sure how many boats they had in 2009 but it seems that the event has matured even in the last 4 years – for one, it looks like the preferred term is the “Buffalo Bayou Regatta” instead of the old term of endearment “The Reeking Regatta”. I even noticed they have professional photographers (Myself not being one of them) covering the event which is a good thing because this is a large event with over 500 boats (whatever a group of canoes and kayaks are called) and it spans 15 miles so in order to have more than starting line and finish line pictures, really a team of 2-4 would be better. I even saw a couple of news crews videoing the start (but didn’t see them at the finish line).

I of course do this stuff for myself but if anybody wants to donate to my “Lenses are really expensive” fund and use the pictures, let me know 🙂 There is the old saying that if you want to take interesting pictures, you should put yourself in front of interesting subjects and that’s what I try to do every week. Last week was Cello Fury, this week it was the Regatta, and next week – who knows.

This year’s weather was very sunny and warm so taking pictures was a bit of a nightmare with the harsh light. The D600’s dynamic range is pretty amazing. I had the D90 with me too for the telephoto stuff, but for some reason, the settings were changed from raw to jpg fine on it so I was not very happy about that. If this was a paid gig, I would have gone through a checklist but it still bugs me that I missed a few great pictures only because of having the wrong settings. Overall though, it was a great fun event to photograph and I got my share of a workout too carrying 2 cameras, 3 lenses, and a flash for a couple of miles. Good job Buffalo Bayou Partnerships and the sponsors.

Enjoy!

Buffalo Bayou Regatta 2013 (also known as Reeking Regatta)

Early morning light…normally this would be backlit unless I used flash, but with the D600’s dynamic range, shadows pull out nicely.
Buffalo Bayou Regatta 2013 (also known as Reeking Regatta)

It’s a messy business…minutes later a snake showed up in the water too and it looked like the mean kind so that’s the major reason why I’m not as brave as these guys.
Buffalo Bayou Regatta 2013 (also known as Reeking Regatta)

Buffalo Bayou Regatta 2013 (also known as Reeking Regatta)

Buffalo Bayou Regatta 2013 (also known as Reeking Regatta)

Buffalo Bayou Regatta 2013 (also known as Reeking Regatta)

Buffalo Bayou Regatta 2013 (also known as Reeking Regatta)

Buffalo Bayou Regatta 2013 (also known as Reeking Regatta)

Buffalo Bayou Regatta 2013 (also known as Reeking Regatta)

Buffalo Bayou Regatta 2013 (also known as Reeking Regatta)

The two leaders.
Buffalo Bayou Regatta 2013 (also known as Reeking Regatta)

Buffalo Bayou Regatta 2013 (also known as Reeking Regatta)

Buffalo Bayou Regatta 2013 (also known as Reeking Regatta)

Buffalo Bayou Regatta 2013 (also known as Reeking Regatta)

Buffalo Bayou Regatta 2013 (also known as Reeking Regatta)

Leave a Reply

