Fabergé: A Brilliant Vision at the HMNS #pixelparty

A big thanks to Fayza at the HMNS for inviting us to photograph the beautiful Fabergé exhibit. The Pixel Parties that they have from time to time are a great opportunity to photograph works we don’t get to photograph during a regular visit and it’s a great chance for you guys to see the work and go see it yourself in person. I’m a guy so I’m not into jewelry but even I was impressed.

One problem with this type of photography is that you really need a lens with macro capabilities because with subjects these small, you have to get in close and regular lenses aren’t designed to focus that closely up. I still did ok with backing up and with 24 MP’s on the D600, cropping a little doesn’t hurt anything, but I think I would get some extension tubes some time in the near future. A macro lens would be better but I have already blown up my budget on lenses for the next 2 years and given how good my lenses are, an extension tube should be just fine.

Techniques used? I did long exposure on all of them at around f/8-f/16. Why? Because with macro work you have a very narrow depth of field so forget about going f/2.8 if you want the entire piece to be in focus. I also used a tripod, shot with the mirror up, and used a corded remote and the mirror flipped up on the camera. Why? (sorry my niece asks “why?” anytime I answer a question so I’m used to it) Because that bit of stabilization is the difference between a sharp picture and a tact sharp picture.

Everything was also behind a glass case so there was nothing that could have been done about reflections other than picking a better angle. I’m ok with this.

Fabergé Tiara on display at the HMNS

I think I should have stepped back one more step to allow the lens to focus on the necklace.
Fabergé jewelry on display at the HMNS

Fabergé jewelry on display at the HMNS

Fabergé jewelry on display at the HMNS

Fabergé jewelry on display at the HMNS

Fabergé Minature Egg Charms

Fabergé jewelry on display at the HMNS

Fabergé Parrot

And a few more:
Fabergé Clock on display at the HMNS

Fabergé jewelry on display at the HMNS

Fabergé jewelry on display at the HMNS

Fabergé Egg

Fabergé jewelry on display at the HMNS

2 thoughts on “Fabergé: A Brilliant Vision at the HMNS #pixelparty

    1. Haha unfortunately no. I have:
      14-24mm f/2.8 ultra wide angle
      24-70mm f/2.8 mid-range zoom
      80-200 f/2.8 telephoto zoom
      85mm f/1.8g portrait lens
      and 50mm 1.4 normal low light lens

      But no macro! They do sell extension tubes that I can attach to any of those lenses to convert them into macro though….

Leave a Reply

