My…You’re looking well. Going back to the ex (camera) for a couple of weeks.

Since this is a photography blog, I decided to get rid of some of the clutter on the page and just have a basic blog and make the page as wide as possible within the limitations that wordpress.com gives. This was the only template that I saw which let me get rid of the right side column, and still keep the original aspect ratio of the files. The old template that I had, would cut off the edge of the pictures which were over 900 pixels. In this version, I can put 1024 pixel wide pictures. The sacrifice of course is that there is no easy way for you guys to search the archives, but I think most of the searches here come from Google anyway so it shouldn’t be an issue.

It’s just weird that there aren’t any true photography themed blog templates on here. Sure, there are a few that look nice but don’t allow viewing the large version of the photos which to meet defeats the purpose. It’s very rare to run into the computer monitor that is not widescreen, yet, most of the templates are set forth older monitors and none that I have found it out for picture boxes to pop out temporarily. Short of writing the code from scratch, or using existing JavaScript code out there in the wild, there aren’t too many free or at least hasslefree options out there.

Anyway, as previously mentioned, my D600 is in the hands of the Nikon Corporation getting the sensor cleaned. This time, I ran into almost no resistance from Nikon in getting the shipping label to send the camera back. This was a stark contrast to how they handled things last October when I first got my camera and saw spots on the sensor. I suppose they got tired of denying there is any issue. I thought the sensor was cleaned the first time when I did it, but after seeing many more spots, I decided it would be better for professionals to handle it. The good news is from what others have told me, their cameras stayed dust free after a professional cleaning which indicates that there is only a finite amount of dust in the cameras when they come from the factory. Somewhere somehow, someone screwed up. Sweatshop workers aren’t what they used to be.

As such, I was using my old D90 to take some pictures since the weather was nice outside. It was also the first time to try out the Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8 on the old camera. One thing that kept my sanity and allowed me to hold on to the D90 was that for a year and a half, I used that other legendary Nikkor lens, the 14-24mm f/2.8 as a short/medium zoom. Since the new camera is full frame, I finally got to use that lens for its intended purpose of an ultra-wide angle lens. I was also spoiled because on the full frame camera, the 24-70 acted as a true mid-zoom lens, so when I just wanted to go out with one lens, it was the perfect walkaround lens as it was wide enough for most applications, and long enough to at least get the job done when I needed to getting closer. That is what she said.

On the D90, the 24-70 f/2.8 was just not wide enough for me to take the pictures that I like to get – to get in close and immerse the viewer into the scene. Even when there is room to back up, it is not the same shot as being in close and using a wider angle lens. The perspective is completely different. I was also missing shooting at ISO 100 and overall it just didn’t feel the same as it used to feel. I used to think that 24 megapixels was overkill, but when I was editing the pictures in Lightroom, I noticed how much less detail the D90 has in comparison to the D600. In the four years that I had the D90, I took some wonderful pictures that I will cherish forever, but it just didn’t feel like we belong together anymore. It was like running into an ex-girlfriend and hanging out for old times sake, but as the day goes by, you realize that it can never be the same.

Having said all of that, I think the D90 does make a nice second body – either to be used at the same time, or in case the other camera is getting serviced like it is now. I have had some debate in my mind about whether I should sell it and get compact body as my second camera, but in case of a real emergency, I can’t use a compact camera and get the results that I want so for the time being, I will keep it. As Madonna would say, Papa don’t preach I’m keeping my D90.

Here are the pictures. A wider angle lens would have worked better here because it would let me getting closer and include more of the background as well as allow for more things to be focus. This is because the hyperfocal distance would be much closer on a shorter focal length. I was already using f/11 so going up higher wouldn’t have changed things that much more and I wanted to stick to ISO 200.
Discovery Green Ice Rink

Discovery Green Ice Rink

I have run into the Wild Moccasins a few times over the years. The first time I saw them was in ViaColori 2008. This was shot with my old Sigma 10-20mm f/4.0-5.6 which wasn’t my favorite lens but I got some decent pics with it.
Wild Moccasins 2008
Yesterday was just a small free show at the Discovery Green flea market.
Wild Moccasins

Discovery Green Afternoon

Discovery Green Ice Rink

Leave a Reply

