From ice sculptures to gravestone sculptures.

The weather hasn’t been cooperating in the last couple of weeks. It’s been cold, dreary, and often raining. As such, I didn’t really have a chance to take pictures lately so I made a point of taking some this weekend even if it’s completely random things. The first set of pictures are from the ice sculpting competition in Discovery Green Park. Unfortunately for the competitors, it was a cold and rainy day and the Houston Texans were having their playoff game at the same time.

Ice Sculpting Competition at Discovery Green

Ice Sculpting Competition at Discovery Green

Ice Sculpting Competition at Discovery Green

Ice Sculpting Competition at Discovery Green

I’m not a fan of using filters on lenses, but I think this one time I should’ve brought one with me. Ice hitting the front element of the lens is not good because it immediately fogged up on the inside. Reverend Butter showed no mercy to the Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8 lens.
Ice Sculpting Competition at Discovery Green

How to test the weather Sealing on the camera

On Sunday, I went to a photo walk in Houston’s Greenwood Cemetery which has a lot of historic figures resting there. This was the first time I have done photography in a cemetery, but this is a beautiful cemetery near downtown and apparently it’s a place where people come to just hangout, reflect, and relax. There are also many other photographers there so I didn’t feel weird. The key is of course to be respectful while being there.

Not sure which version of the statue I like better. The black-and-white version was exposed a little bit too bright so that background easily turned white when I converted it to black-and-white so it seems to have a nice clean look without the clutter in the background.
Glenwood Cemetery

On the other hand, I really like this color version as well. This one was shot at f/1.8 and 85mm on a full frame camera so the depth of field is very shallow. I also the flash to balance out the light a bit.
Glenwood Cemetery

This picture was also shot at f/1.8 which is why the depth of field is so shallow. At first, I thought that the veterans buried there were from one of the recent conflicts but after taking a closer look, I noticed that they were from the 1920s. Yet, the headstones were well maintained and the flags were new and shining gloriously in the sun.
Glenwood Cemetery

This one is probably my favorite picture of the day. I took a close-up photo of the Angel earlier but the light was not as dramatic. This one has the light shining directly on the Angel and eyes naturally go directed at. This is one Angel you don’t want to mess with.
Glenwood Cemetery

I was getting ready to leave when I was informed that Howard Hughes was also buried at Glenwood Cemetery. All of a sudden, it made sense why just a block away there’s a bar called Hughes Hanger. Maybe it’s just a coincidence.
Howard Hughes' Grave

Leave a Reply

