Houston Art Crawl and Buffalo Bayou Pictures (taken with the D600) @NikonUSA

Art Crawl 2012

I decided to go check out art crawl yesterday and was surprised at how big it was and how far it spread. It was also great to have my Nikon D600’s replacement back but as you will hear in the end (I am so tired of talking about this so I will talk about that in the end) and there were plenty of things to photograph while I got used to the camera again.

We started the crawl around Nance and went up near the St. Arnold Brewery where they had some more wonderful studios and metal shops. I have to say that Houston has some very talented artists in all genres whether it’s paint, sketching, photography, metal works, and any other medium.

I talked to a few wonderful photographers about their methodology, film processing, etc. and they were amazing. On the flipside, and being a photography snob though I also saw work by some photographers there where I thought they were just a guy and a camera whose work was not yet at the quality it would need to be for them to be selling their prints. Some had some familiar Houston landmarks that I have photographed many times and I honestly thought their focus, exposure, composition, and overall quality were well below par and I honestly liked my versions better. I’m not trying to put down other photographers, but I think we all could use an honest critique now and then.

Perhaps I should get into the prints for sale game too. In the past, me and fine art photography haven’t gotten along too well because I don’t add things to my pictures and a lot of fine art photographers do or the worst crime of all, being technically lazy. ie. pictures not quite focused right etc. At the end of the walk, I also went to U of H downtown to see if I could get some of my own “fine art” pics and it wasn’t too shabby. I suppose there is something about those artists putting themselves out there and taking a risk by paying for a studio.

Art Crawl 2012

Art Crawl 2012

_SC_0032

Art Crawl 2012

Art Crawl 2012

Art Crawl 2012

Art Crawl 2012

Art Crawl 2012

Art Crawl 2012

I’m not sure what this was about but they had a “Miss Art Crawl” walking around with a tiara and flowers and a group of fake photographers following her around like she’s a famous movie star…it was in good fun.
Art Crawl 2012

This one was kind of freaky
Art Crawl 2012

Art Crawl 2012

Art Crawl 2012

On the way back, I decided to go off the path and do some urban photography:
Hide and seek

This one had a ton of spots showing in the blue sky due to the Nikon D600 sensor issue. I had to clone them out.
Houston Metro

This was not the smartest idea because there were a lot of homeless folks (like the gentleman who is urinating) there and no witnesses to anythign else that might happen to a fellow with a lot of camera gear.
Why we can't have nice things

Favorite picture of the day is this one taken with the 24-70mm f/2.8 lens and a circular polarizer filter. One mistake a lot of photographers make is not to embrace the shadows in the picture. Embrace the darkness I say!

Downtown Houston

As mentioned in the old blogpost updates, I finally got my new D600 back from BH Photo. That’s the good news. The bad news is that this one has even bigger dust particles! I guess the other semi-good news is that at least this time I can confirm one of the spots was dust and not oil. Nikon really needs to be proactive on it. Funny part is that their twitter page has plenty of time to post cutsie “what’s your dream shoot?!” type questions, but are absolutely useless as far as customer service goes. I will not return this camera however so it’s time for me to be proactive about it too and will try to deal with Nikon this week yet again. Here is the issue with this latest test shot after 198 clicks:
D600 Sensor Dust Example

Leave a Reply

