Ordered my Nikon D600 and 24-70mm from @BHphotovideo @NikonUSA

After much thinking I decided to order my new D600 and a 24-70mm f/2.8 lens from BH and should have it by the end of the week. Here is the making of the promo video all shot with the D600.

Why D600? Well, it’s not a perfect camera but it’s the cheapest new full frame so I’d have to live with its shortcomings. I would have really considered the D800, but 36 MP’s is a dealbreaker for me. Why get it now? I always said that I was waiting for the first price drop to buy it but thanks to the strangle-hold that Nikon has on their dealers, they are not allowed to set their own price anymore (I believe since October of last year). Some might call this price fixing and illegal. I certainly think it should be illegal and there should be anti-trust issues, but then I’m not a lawyer.

The reason for this is because a lot of local stores cried that the online stores were under-cutting them and that’s why they were losing business. I would argue that while that is partly true, a lot of local camera shops are dinosaurs who failed to adapt to the reality and failed to offer extra value. At least in the local camera shops I’ve gone to, service is non-existent and there is a certain smugness that I detect from the guys behind the counter. If the local shops offered a free monthly sensor cleaning for a year, it wouldn’t cost them much and would make me feel good about using them. Or perhaps something else aside smugness. smugness is not a value added.

So why BH? Well, the good folks at BH offered free goodies like a new third party battery, a $60 camera bag, and a fast 30 gig Sandisk SD card. I needed a card anyway and I can always use another bag. So they got my business. In addition to the free goodies, I bundled the 24-70mm f/2.8 and got $200 off that. I was going to buy a used one after selling my older 24-85mm lens but with the $200 off, the price would be close to that of a used one but with a full warranty.

I almost bought this from Adorama to reward them for the great Youtube videos they put out, but they didn’t have the free bag, battery, and SD card and couldn’t tell me how long the 24-70mm lens bundle would last. Amazon and I don’t see eye to eye as much anymore since they changed their policies in Texas.

It’s a lot of money but I feel good about this purchase. I only hope the Nikon D600’s oil splattering issue is under control, but if my camera ends up having oil on the sensor, you bet that it’s either going to go back to BH or Nikon depending on the situation. There is no excuse for the number of cases. You’ve both been forewarned!

So now we play the waiting game. Meanwhile, I have 2/3 of the Nikon Holy Trinity of lenses. My 14-24mm will get some rest and return to its intended purpose as an ultra wide angle as opposed to a mid-range zoom. The new 24-70 f/2.8 will be the workhorse, The 85mm 1.8 lens will probably be my short telephoto of choice on the old D90, the 80-200mm will be my long tele on either camera though some day it will be replaced by the 70-200 VRII. Just not anytime soon. I’m on the 5 year plan for that.

After all that happened with Nikon and getting the 14-24 fixed (paying $500), I vowed not to get the nikon 24-70, but despite having VC, I decided the Tamron was not for me – not a fan of the onion bokeh nor the slower focus speed.

3 thoughts on “Ordered my Nikon D600 and 24-70mm from @BHphotovideo @NikonUSA

  1. Hi! I’d loooove to know what you think of the D600. I currently shoot with a D700, but really miss the video mode that I had on my D5100 (before upgrading to FX). Not to mention, the promo video will make anyone pull out their credit card… I’m scared about giving up the 1/8000s speed though. As far as the bracketing for HDR, I’ve never used that feature before. Anyway, will be keeping up for updates!

    1. Hurray! Someone reads this blog! I was told that my package arrived today so I will take it for a quick spin tonight. The thing I’m more worried about at the moment is all the reports of spots on the sensor, but I’m sure that will get resolved one way or another. Do you have a portfolio somewhere with your D700 pics?

  2. I Googled Nikon shutter replacement Houston or something like that and you were on the list. 🙂 I’m no pro, but I do have a Flickr that I play with a lot.

Leave a Reply

