DockDogs 2012

For some reason, Dock Dogs has their annual Houston show right in the middle of the summer. I’m sure it would work better for everybody involved to come here in winter when we have mild weather and other places have freezing weather, but I’m just saying this for selfish reasons – namely I am not a big fan of the blistering Texas sun. Still, I have always made time for DockDogs because it’s fun and I get to practice focusing on a fast, small, and moving subject.

Unfortunately, my D90 is not exactly a sports camera so there is often a lot of hit or miss involved. If I did this for a living, I’d need a pro body.

One thing that I wanted to try was the sequence. Fairly easy thing to do really. I brought my tripod so the background would be lined up the same and snapped away. The D90’s 4.5 frames per second seemed to be the perfect rate to make sure there was no overlap. In photoshop, I just masked each layer to show the dog and things worked out pretty well. I probably should have came the day before when they were doing the vertical jumps.
DockDogs 2012

DockDogs 2012

More “classic” shots:
DockDogs 2012

DockDogs 2012

DockDogs 2012

DockDogs 2012

Some dogs you just can’t reach.
DockDogs 2012

Kind of funny that I kept noticing the same people from last year and some from the year before.
DockDogs 2012

And the same little girl from 2011!
More dogs!

Leave a Reply

