Art Cars and a Quinceañera

Last night I had the pleasure of photographing my first Quinceanera. I was reluctant to accept it because I had not shot one before and as much as I love photography, I know that for once in a lifetime events – weddings and such, you both need to know what you’re doing and also have backup equipment. In this case, I’d have to deal with teenagers and stressed out parents so my friend showing up to help with her Nikon D3100 was a great help even if she wouldn’t have taken a single picture. It would have been nicer if all my lenses were AF-S so they would fully be compatible with the D3100 but in an emergency, we would have had the 14-85mm range covered and I had backup lighting from Speedlights to monolights.

I’ve been to many shoots with multiple photographers, but this was the first time that I had to coordinate with a second shooter and as such, there was a small learning curve. The first thing I need to remember to do is sync our camera clocks so when editing the pictures in Lightroom, I can sort by the time the pictures were taken so the two cameras would be in sync with each other. The next lesson was to relax more and not try to do too much- a 3-4 hour event is a long time so if there is a period when not a lot is going on – people eating for instance, one or both photographers can just relax and mingle with the people.

Overall, I was very pleased with the results despite challenging lighting and a big thanks to my second shooter!

Friday night was a different story. I went to Discovery Green Park to take some pictures of the art cars in the pre-party. I wanted to get there before sunset but didn’t quite make it. Fortunately my 50mm f/1.4D lens does great work in low light. I love that lens really and hope to keep it so hopefully the rumors that the D600 not having an AF motor are false. Anyway, here are a few pictures I took before the hail/rain/thunderstorms moved in: I hope none of the cars got damaged in the storm.

Art Car Parade Pre-Party

Art Car Parade Pre-Party

Art Car Parade Pre-Party

Art Car Parade Pre-Party

Art Car Parade Pre-Party

Art Car Parade Pre-Party

Leave a Reply

