Thoughts on the new Nikon D3200

Nikon announced the release of the new entry level D3200 DSLR.  http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d3200/index.htm   I would have loved to hear the announcement of the D400 but I guess popping out entry level cameras is easier for them and they sell more of them.    I usually don’t pay attention to the new entry level cameras because they have lacked a TOP LCD screen, AF motor, and other features I need, but this one got my attention because of the 24.2 megapixel sensor.

Yes, this entry level camera has a 24 MP sensor.  Why?  I have no clue.  I think the average person starting out would rather have a 12 MP camera that gives double the low light performance and more dynamic range.  I think the average person starting out would rather have smaller files to deal with than 8 MB jpeg files or 30 MB raw files (all estimates on my part…not official).

There was a case to be made for the D800 being 36 MP’s because it’s a pro camera and it was filling a need for certain professional photographers’ needs, but I for the life of me can’t figure out the reasoning for the D3200 being 24 MP.

My only guess is that it’s a marketing ploy to bring in more uninformed shoppers the way Canon had done so far.   A person who may not know any better will look at the ticket on the camera and see this is 24 MP and look at another one and see it’s 16 MP and think the 24 MP camera is better.    As we know, that is not the way to compare cameras.  A 12 MP D3s (professional camera) will absolutely destroy the 24 MP Nikon D3200 in image quality in low light.

I hope this is not a trend.

Leave a Reply

