The Year in Review

Photographs have a way of evoking an instant memory of a time and place even more so than video because the picture only gives you a two-dimensional slice of time and forces your brain to remember every other detail about what you were doing at the time and what things you choose to remember about it. The act of photography itself is very personal so every picture has its unique way of ringing the past into life for the photographer more so than the person viewing the picture.

Here are a few pictures from 2011 that are my favorites and perhaps a little story to go each one. If you’d like to see the bigger version of the picture, all the pictures link to my Flickr site.

This year started out at little on the slow side with regard to photography. In 2010 I already had some great pictures that I was very proud of within the first week of the year; however, the weather was not that great start and I wasn’t really too inspired to take pictures so most of my pictures were a bit on the casual side and more introspective than the more professional pictures that I took the previous year. This one is from Picasso’s by Paws Party & Painting Sponsored by the Houston Spay Neuter Assistance Program. My friend Kelly told me about that so I decided to grab my camera and go check it out. Pretty much what would happen is they would dip the dogs’ paws in pain to and make prints on paper. The best part was afterwards when the owner would wash the paint off the dog. This little guy was having a good time there.
Picasso's by Paws Party & Painting

The next event was the Houston rodeo Parade in downtown. By now I had my new 14-24mm lens that I wanted to try out so the memorable thing about this shoot is lugging that heavy hunk of metal around downtown just to take some pictures.

Rodeo Parade

Rodeo Parade
Here is Houston Mayor Annise Parker. I didn’t realize it at the time but since there were many high-ranking officials at the parade, my camera gear and bag were making some mysterious people in the crowd earpieces a bit nervous. I was just a regular guy with a U of H T-shirt so it worked out.
Houston Mayor Annise Parker

Houston Cougar

here is a picture of my then two-year-old niece that is one of my favorites because it captures Her personality very well:

Here comes the sun

And so the first day of spring I went to Discovery Green Park to take a few pictures of art bikes and to see what the city was doing to prepare for the NCAA Final Four tournament which was coming to Houston.

Art Bike

Right after that, I started hearing Persian music and was suddenly reminded that it was the Persian new year and there was a celebration of it going on in the same park’s off course I had to go check that out:

Norooz Celebrations at Discovery Green

Norooz Celebrations at Discovery Green

Firoozeh @ Norooz Celebrations at Discovery Green

Norooz Celebrations at Discovery Green

A week or so later the Final Four was happening so there were some decorations in the Galleria area that I just had to pull over and take pictures of:

Final Four 2011 in Houston

As the weather gotten warmer, the Art Car Parade was back in town

2011 Art Car Parade

Along with the Back to the Future outdoor movie Festival

Back to the Future!

Then there was the challenge of trying to capture flying bats which ultimately resulted in me losing a lens in the bayou

Waugh Street Bridge Fun

Followed by the gay pride parade
2011 Houston Pride Parade

2011 Houston Pride Parade

The Dock Dogs were back in town in July:

Dog Dogs 2011

More dogs!

Along with the Reliant Dog show:

World Series of Dog shows

A fun night model shoot with my favorite Houston Photographer Mark

Leslie

Downtown Shoot

Pretending to be a newspaper photographer and covering the controversial Rick Perry public prayer event(well public as long as you believe exactly what he believes). At the time, he was thought to be the front runner for the GOP…not so much now as of this writing. L O L.

Reliant Freedom From Religion Protest

Reliant Freedom From Religion Protest

Reliant Freedom From Religion Protest

Then came one of my favorite shoots of the year the dog calendar that I shoot for a rescue group every year. This was a very memorable day for what I did after the shoot and a little road trip but that is little personal, but for me the to memories go hand-in-hand because I was in a bit of a hurry to finish the shoot.
Malamutes!

Malamutes!

Malamutes!

And of course, the highlight of the year as far as photography goes was getting a chance at photographing the beautiful city of Seattle where I called my happy place. Every corner of that city was like walking into a painting as long as the sun was out.

Seattle

Seattle!

Bainbridge

Pioneer Square

Bainbridge

Seattle's skyline

Seattle Pike Place

Space Needle in the morning

Back in Houston, there was the Via Colori festival

Via Colori 2011

And of course the Holiday lights in downtown:

Holidays in Downtown Houston

Holidays in Downtown Houston

Candlelight tour

Leave a Reply

