Leigh Boone Memorial

Since my adventures in Seattle, I decided to buy a bike myself to combine fitness, photography, and fun. Last night however, I was reminded of how dangerous it is to ride on Houston streets as I passed a mysterious white bike on the corner of Westheimer and Dulavy. At first I thought maybe it was an art project given that this was in a somewhat artsy part of town, but it became apparent to me and my friend that it was a memorial and I put two and two together and remembered the horrible tragedy that happened there a couple of years earlier. Full story is here http://abclocal.go.com/ktrk/story?section=news/local&id=6735569 but I distinctly remember the April 2009 accident when two fire trucks responding to a call collided with each other (one ran a red light) and Leigh Boone, 29 year old cyclist was killed.

Not much to say except Rest in Peace and if anything good can come of a horrible tragedy, it is to remind people to be careful out there and remember her.

Leigh Boone Memorial

Leave a Reply

