Reliant Day of Prayer protests

Every now and then I follow a news story and then pretend to be a newspaper photographer (or Journalists as they’re known) and cover it. Usually there has to be a fun angle to it too…maybe a regatta, fireworks, street festival, etc. This time it was Texas Governor and possible Presidential candidate Rick Perry’s Day of Prayer.

I want this blog to be focused on the photography aspect and not make it political, but I’m sure my bias is apparent just by the pictures I chose to take. I am not Fox News after all so I don’t have to be “Fair and Balanced” like they are. Hah. Anyway, this does bring up an interesting point however that perhaps a non-journalist has a hard time not showing his own bias or not be political. I remember a while back when the Tea Party was holding rallies and one particular flickr member kept posting his pictures in unrelated camera groups (for instance posting pictures in a lens group that had nothing to do with politics) and when called out, he was claiming that he’s just posting pictures without wanting to push his politics onto others and of course he was. Of course, the difference here is that this my own personal blog so if my love of dog events, pretty models, parades, and funny signs offend you, I’m pretty sure the internets has better offerings.

Obviously, this is a controversial issue – some in Texas feel that since this is a public stadium, a sitting Governor using it for a religious rally crosses a line. Others say pish pash, it’s his right. Because of that, I wanted to be respectful and not show any recognizable pictures of people in case they didn’t want to be photographed (although that should be expected when they hold a sign in public) so I did a little extra cropping on some pictures and covered up a license plate.

So you’re thinking, “I too want to be a pretend news paper photographer, what should I do?”
To you I say, look the part: Find your biggest lenses, maybe even a badge (it could be “cupcake eating champion 1989” on it).
Know exactly when and where the event will be held including the parking situation.
Dress for the part – wear sunscreen, a hat, raincoat, whatever.
Bring a snack and water.
Don’t be shy…talk to people, ask them permission to take their picture.
Lastly, remember you’re not an actual newspaper photographer so don’t go to any restricted areas with your cupcake eating championship badge.

Reliant Freedom From Religion Protest

Reliant Freedom From Religion Protest

Reliant Freedom From Religion Protest

Reliant Freedom From Religion Protest

Reliant Freedom From Religion Protest

Reliant Freedom From Religion Protest

Reliant Freedom From Religion Protest

Reliant Freedom From Religion Protest

Reliant Freedom From Religion Protest

Reliant Freedom From Religion Protest

Reliant Freedom From Religion Protest

Reliant Freedom From Religion Protest

One thought on “Reliant Day of Prayer protests

  1. Hey, Arie! I met you at the Yelp Elite event this past weekend. Just wanted to drop a note saying that I’m loving the pictures you’ve been shooting and I’ll be sure to come back more to check it out! Definitely feel like I have a lot I could learn from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

