Lens shortcomings and a flashback

I must confess that since the of loss The 50 mm lens, I am a little bit worried that my current lens lineup may not be adequate for certain shoots. Currently I have one of the best if not the best ultra-wide-angle lens in the whole world, and I have two very respectable professional grade telephoto lenses; however, from 24 mm through 80 mm I have nothing. For the types of shoots that I typically do – landscapes and cityscapes along with portraits, this may not be a big problem since I don’t typically use a midrange lens for those; unfortunately, for events and other unknown and general shooting, a midrange zoom is indispensable.

Really, I was pushing the envelope by only having a 50 mm lens, but I don’t even have that anymore so there is a wide gap that I have to work around now. Still, one of the things that all photographers deal with is that they don’t always have everything that they need, and a good photographer still manages to get interesting and thought-provoking pictures with what he has. It’s very cliché but the best camera is the one that you have in your hands. Having said that, I think I will be looking at a midrange zoom lens when I have money that I want to burn. The issue is that I have to get an FX lens since I still plan on upgrading my camera body, but those cost considerably more.

Selling my 85 mm lens could make this an easier pill to swallow, but I really do love the 85 mm size and weight and it takes some beautiful pictures as you can see from these shots from 2009. This was at the Museum of Natural Science and really one of My most memorable visits there.

Terra Cotta Warriors

Terra Cotta Warriors

Terra Cotta Warriors

Terra Cotta Warriors

Terra Cotta Warriors

Terra Cotta Warriors

Terra Cotta Warriors

Terra Cotta Warriors

Terra Cotta Warriors

There is a shoot scheduled for this evening around downtown and I will be working at the Reliant dog show this weekend so there will be many new pictures to come. Hope you enjoyed some of these oldies.

Leave a Reply

