Dock Dogs is in town!

What is Dock Dogs you ask? For the last three or four years Discovery Green Park is taken over by high flying dogs in various competitions all of which involve jumping into a pool of water. Judging by the last few years, I’m guessing that the weather is going to be blistering hot with no shelter so I wish that they would’ve pulled this a couple of months earlier in the year. Anyway, it will be a great chance to test out the new telephoto lens. Here is one from last year’s show:
Dock Dogs 2010 Houston, TX

Camera Nikon D90
Exposure 0.001 sec (1/1250)
Aperture f/6.3
Focal Length 70 mm
ISO Speed 1000

This was shot with my old 70-300 f/4.5-5.6 VR so I had to bump up my iso speed in order to be able to use a fast shutter speed. In retrospect, I could have used a slightly slower shutter speed but for highflying dogs I wanted to be able to freeze the picture as much as I could. This year if I try to do a similar shot I can use f/2.8 and even stay with an ISO of 200 all things equal. Of course, doing so would also cause the background to blur which may or may not look good – who am I kidding bokeh always looks good!

Leave a Reply

