2011 Houston Pride Parade

It’s a little bit ironic that Until recently, I didn’t really like parades and thought they were pointless and boring, but it seems this year especially I’ve been taking pictures of more and more parades – The Art Car Parade, The Rodeo Parade, and probably a few other events that I’m forgetting. Anyway, the Pride Parade is held annually in Houston’s Montrose area which is historically known for the gay and lesbian community in Houston. In the last 10 years or so however, the area has become very mainstream with many young professionals, families, and other people who love urban living moving in to enjoy old-fashioned buildings, nightlife, arts, and otherwise get out of the suburban hellhole. In many ways the Montrose area is “Little Austin” .

I’ve never been to the Pride Parade before, but given that just a few days ago New York passed the landmark ruling legalizing gay marriage in that state, I had a feeling that the Houston parade would be very lively and aside from providing many great photo opportunities, was a somewhat historic event and decided to check it out. I am not going to get political or preachy, but it’s always good to see a community be full of joy.

Anyway, this was not that particular easy event to photograph because of the challenge of having a moving subject in darkness. Some of the floats had lights so they were actually very vibrant if captured correctly. As always, you can click on each picture to go to my Flickr page to see the entire EXIF data and see my camera settings, but all my pictures were taken by the 14-24mm f/2.8 lens (have I mentioned how much I love this lens?) on my Nikon D90. The settings were all at f/2.8 and around 1/60th of a second shutter speed. My iso range was between 800 to 1600 which is right around the edge of acceptable quality with the D90.
2011 Houston Pride Parade

I really like the bright yellow color over the dark sky in this one:
2011 Houston Pride Parade

2011 Houston Pride Parade

2011 Houston Pride Parade

2011 Houston Pride Parade

2011 Houston Pride Parade

2011 Houston Pride Parade

And finally, my favorite picture of the night:
2011 Houston Pride Parade

Leave a Reply

