Loss in the (Nikkor) family…

Given that my first attempt at shooting bats was kind of a failure and I didn’t feel like doing much last night, I decided to go to the Waugh bridge and try again last night. It would be a good chance to try out the new 80-200 f/2.8 lens too I thought. It was actually working like a champ given how dark it was and giving me shutter speeds of 1/500 which I could have never done with my old f/4.5-5.6 lens but I decided to switch to my 50mm 1.8 lens instead. While I was holding the 80-200mm f/2.8 lens, I was going to put in the 50, but it slipped from my hand and started rolling down the steep hill under the bridge.


As you can see, the lens is very round and very solid so it had a full head of steam. I tried to chase after it and dropped the camera on the grass, but one thing I’ve learned is not to make a bad situation worst and sliding on bat shit (there were tons of it around) and tumbling in a dirty bayou full of snakes and other things at night would not have been worth it. My unsuccessful search this morning leads me to believe it must have fell in the bayou. I found the end cap for it last night, but that’s it.

The weird part is that I barely used that lens until this year when I sold my mid-range zoom. Right now there is a gap between 24mm and 80mm in my lens lineup. It will be a while before I get something else however. Maybe get a mid-range zoom this time and forget the prime.

All of these pictures were taken with the 80-200
Waugh Bridge Bat colony attempt #2

Waugh Bridge Bat colony attempt #2

Waugh Bridge Bat colony attempt #2

2 thoughts on “Loss in the (Nikkor) family…

  1. Arie!! Wow! Your pictures are wonderful!!! I see why you are so into your photos! The colors are great, and they are true life-even better. I hope you get to show your work one day in a gallery! 🙂

Leave a Reply

