New addition to the family

After selling the old 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 VR Nikkor lens, I felt that the 85mm f/1.8 lens alone wasn’t going to be enough for a lot of the shooting I do. I had my eye on a 70-200mm f/2.8 VR I however since the earthquake in Japan, the prices on those had gone up tremendously and not being a pro, I couldn’t justify spending $1600+ on a used VRI or $2400 on a new VR II. Still, my new policy is that I only want f/2.8 pro glass even if it’s not the newest thing out there.

After some thought, I decided the 80-200mm AF-D f/2.8 Nikkor was the perfect lens. It’s solid metal and built like a tank and being AF-D, it doesn’t have a built in AF motor that can go bad. I wish it had VR but I guess if need be, I can get a monopod. Really, for my use I think I can manage to handhold it in most situatios. For almost half the price of the newer 70-200, it’s nice to have pro glass. I can’t wait to get it. THIS is why I tell people to get a camera with a built in AF motor- access to older pro lenses. Sure, you can find a lens with a built in AF that’s professional, but it often costs several thousand dollars.

Of course, this brings up an interesting dilemma: the 80-200 covers the range of my 85mm lens and is only 1 stop slower. Do I REALLY need to keep the 85mm? I love the 85mm for portraits and headshots but the 80-200 can do that just as well if I stand back a little and use a longer focal length. The biggest motivation for keeping the 85mm is that it’s small and unassuming so when I’m walking around I can take that along with the 14-24mm and not break my back. I can also take it where long lenses are not allowed. We’ll have to see.

Leave a Reply

