2011 Houston Art Car Parade

This year’s parade like last year was unbearably hot. In fact, I can’t remember a single Art Car Parade that had comfortable whether; however, there always very fun. Since I didn’t come as early as I had the year before, I focused more on the cars that were new to me this year.

For the most part the pictures were shot in either manual or aperture priority mode. Most of the pictures were shot with my 14-24mm f/2.8 Nikkor (my pride and joy). For the close-ups, I used the bastard child 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 VR lens. It’s really not fair to call it that because it is a very sharp lens that has vibration reduction and doesn’t weigh a ton. Of coarse, it’s not a very fast lens and this is the sort of situation that it’s made for. I’ve been contemplating selling the lens since I don’t use it too often but when I do, I remember why I still have it.

I should also mention that because these were shot in the middle of the day the lighting is a little bit harsh and it was a challenge to get this guy balanced with the subject and some of that was done in post processing using my super secret method. It’s not that super or that secret really. Anyway, enjoy!

2011 Art Car Parade

2011 Art Car Parade

2011 Art Car Parade

2011 Art Car Parade

2011 Art Car Parade

2011 Art Car Parade

2011 Art Car Parade

2011 Art Car Parade

2011 Art Car Parade

2011 Art Car Parade

2011 Art Car Parade

2011 Art Car Parade

2011 Art Car Parade

Leave a Reply

