Texas, y’all!

The Houston Museum of Natural Science (Erin especially) is kind enough to have special after-hours photography for Flickr members from time to time and this time the featured exhibit is the Texas! exhibit. As good as my pictures are *sarcasm*, if any of this interests you, please visit the museum and see these up close.

My lenses currently are geared more towards portraits and not events. In these kind of events, I think I miss my 18–55f/2.8 lens the most. Don’t get me wrong, the professional grade 14-24mm 2.8 Nikkor is a very good lens – in fact it’s probably the sharpest ultra wide-angle lens ever made, but it is on the bulky side, and covers is somewhat limited focal range.

Because of this, I seem to be using my 50mm much more. I still think I was doing the right thing to sell off my DX lenses and prepare for upgrading to FX, but the tragic earthquake in Japan has created an unforeseen volatility in cameras so there is a perceived shortage of camera gear (maybe it’s real) so prices have gone up by around 20% across-the-board. I am not going to speculate about the reasoning, but from what I have read the only Nikon factory damaged was the one that makes the high-end cameras (like the D700 or its replacement which I have been lusting over) so it seems that I will be staying with my current camera and the DX format for the near future.

Of course, it goes without saying that a camera shortage is a minor inconvenience and my thoughts are with the victims of the earthquake.

Anyway, enough yakking and on to the pictures:
Texas!

Model ship

Santa Anna's Spurs

Cannon in front of fake Alamo

Some sort of Musket?

Santa Anna's Vest

The Foucalt Pendulum is part of the general exhibit, but I have never been able to get a decent picture of it but while I was on the second floor, I thought I’d give it a shot with the 14-24mm lens and rear sync flash on my camera.
Foucalt Pendulum

Leave a Reply

