Year in review

Since everybody else seems to be having a year end blog, I thought it would be appropriate to have one of my own. As far as photography goes this was a very diverse year for me – I did a lot of studio work as well as getting out and finding things that I thought were photography worthy. I should also mention that during the year I take a lot of pictures from family friends and other personal pictures that you will not see here at of respect for privacy for them. I tried to limit the image size on most of the pictures; however, there are many many pictures so this page may take a little while to load. Hopefully you’ll enjoy them!

I really didn’t waste any time in 2010 getting started with photography. These pictures were taken in the first day of the new year: I have to thank my buddy Vinh for helping out the lights and general guidance as well as the close designer Clare Renee, and the models Bellinissima and Jaime.

Bellinissima

Jaimie Rae

Bellinissima

Jaimie Rae
Even though this was one of the first pictures I took in the new year it is my favorite picture in 2010 because after a long day of shooting everything in this picture was going right – the sun was about to set and it provided for the perfect rim light, the angle was perfect, and really the picture was taking itself and I was just there to push the button. Of course, that’s not how it really works but when things actually go right that’s the way it feels.
**

Next, I ventured into some fashion shows held at Dean’s Credit Clothing by Shina Rae. As far as photography goes, this was mostly a mixed bag. The first time I went there I noticed many other photographers – some who brought their big lights and others who were just taking candid shots; the second time I went there I decided to bring my lights and again drag my buddy and fellow photographer Vinh with me. I went there a few more times and another location where the fashion show was held but soon that ran its course and became routine. It was a pretty fun run however. Here are a few random shots from then:

Dean's Credit Clothing, Feb 20, 2010

Dean's Credit Clothing, Feb 20, 2010

Dean's Credit Clothing, Feb 20, 2010

Dean's Credit Clothing 2-27-2010

Dean's Credit Clothing 5-15-2010

Dean's Credit Clothing 5-15-2010

Fun times at Dean's

Houston isn’t really known for being cold but we do have an ice sculpting competition every year. Here are a couple from that:
2010 Discovery Green Ice Carving Competition

2010 Discovery Green Ice Carving Competition

Here are a couple of pictures from an little Alice in Wonderland theme shoot that we did( again I drag my buddy with me to help with the lights):

Alice Theme
The evil red Queen.

Alice Theme
And of course Alice.

Here are a couple of favorites from the 2010 Houston Art car Parade which was held on May:
2010 Art Car Parade
Dan Aykroyd and Houston Mayor Annise Parker

2010 Art Car Parade
Yes, that is in fact Larry the Cable Guy in Houston driving a giant cockroach.

2010 Art Car Parade

2010 Art Car Parade

2010 Art Car Parade

These guys were one of my favorites in the entire parade.

Moving along, from July 3, 2010, these are some pictures from the Dock Dogs:

Dock Dogs 2010 Houston, TX

Dock Dogs 2010 Houston, TX

Dock Dogs 2010 Houston, TX

Dock Dogs 2010 Houston, TX

This past summer I got a chance to work with my favorite Houston makeup artist Simaria and shot some beautiful work that her students had done:
Infocus Makeup Art Studio
That’s the actual set where the magic happened 🙂
Infocus Makeup Art Studio

Infocus Makeup Art Studio
The beautiful Heather who happens to be the inspiration for the title picture of this blog.

Infocus Makeup Art

Infocus Makeup Art

Infocus Makeup Art

The rest of the shoots are a little bit on the random side:
Weight Pull (sponsored by the Texas Alaskan Malamute Rescue Association)
this one is from the annual weight pull competition for the Texas Alaskan Malamute Rescue Association

Houston Via Colori 2010

Uptown Holiday Lighting 2010
the more recent

Houston Via Colori 2010

Junior Brown

One Afternoon in Austin

One Afternoon in Austin

One Afternoon in Austin

Houston Via Colori 2010

Houston Via Colori 2010

A place called Hell

The Heritage Society's Candlelight tour

The Heritage Society's Candlelight tour

Real Pirates!

Real Pirates!

Real Pirates!

Leave a Reply

