Heritage Society Candlewalk tour

This weekend’s adventures in photography took me to the annual Heritage Society Candlelight tour. Unlike a lot of events where I’m kind of a gorilla photographer, I was actually invited requested to come again this year and had a badge and everything. Here are a few of my favorites in reverse order of how I shot them(flickr likes to stack pictures):

The Heritage Society's Candlelight tour

I took this picture at the request of a sponsor (No clue who he was) who wanted to make sure I got the trees too since people had worked hard to put them up and had to put them up high to avoid people stealing them. The picture came out pretty good I think.
The Heritage Society's Candlelight tour

The Heritage Society's Candlelight tour

I believe this is the oldest house in Harris County. Sure the kids look happy but I would have gone nuts in the olden days if all I had to do for fun was knit.
The Heritage Society's Candlelight tour

We had real snow last year, but that’s kind of a rare thing so this is the closest we are to having snow this year
The Heritage Society's Candlelight tour

The Heritage Society's Candlelight tour

This pictures pretty much captures the mood of the whole night.
The Heritage Society's Candlelight tour

Used a bit of off camera flash to liven up the house on the left. At ISO 800 a small flash has more than enough power for such a thing.
The Heritage Society's Candlelight tour

The Heritage Society's Candlelight tour

I know nothing about choir but they were pretty good.
The Heritage Society's Candlelight tour

To give an idea of the setting. The problem here was the lights the choir had were very bright. So bright that I could easily use ISO 200 to expose them. Unfortunately the background would be black. So I had to overexpose the choir by 2 stops or so and get enough exposure for the buildings, then in Lightroom lower the entire exposure to correct the choir and then selectively raise the exposure for the buildings. Kind of a poor man’s one picture HDR if you will. I like the results though…
The Heritage Society's Candlelight tour

I’m not a fan of tannenbaum’s, but this one is by far my favorite tannenbaum EVER.
The Heritage Society's Candlelight tour

Leave a Reply

