Houston Via Colori 2010

With the nice weather we’ve had lately I had to go check out this year’s Via Colori where artists donate their time and do street art in order to raise money and awareness for the Center for Hearing and Speech as shown here:
Houston Via Colori 2010

and
Houston Via Colori 2010

and Here:

Houston Via Colori 2010

There was also a photography contest for those of us like myself who were born with two left hands let’s just say. I’m not a fan of photography contests because usually they are judged by those who aren’t photographers and don’t appreciate the little things in pictures. You can for instance have a very well composed picture with perfect exposure and at the end, the judges will pick one with a close up of a toy that they thought was cute or worst, they pick one because they like the person.

But still, I can’t go to a 2 day event with 50-100 other photographers walking around with their DSLR’s and at least not try to give them a run for their money. The categories were best macro – I might as well just forget about this one since I wasn’t about to start taking extreme closeups of chalk; Best spirit of the event – I might have a fighting chance with this one; and Best artist at work. I think I have a few tricks up my sleeve with this one.

My weapon of choice: Ultra Wide angle lens and a boom arm. With it, I can take pictures like these without bothering the artists:
Houston Via Colori 2010
Houston Via Colori 2010

That’s by the way a giant mural in front of the library. After finish they would peel it off and mount it somewhere I believe.

I got some good shots the first day…I came very close to making this be one of my entries. In fact I’m still thinking of entering it:
Houston Via Colori 2010

This one also was a picture I thought about entering…and still might:
Houston Via Colori 2010

I was close to calling it a day when I ran across this one. The way the artist drew it, it was as if you were staring down at the Mr. Potato Head. The only way to do it justice would be to shoot it from above:
Houston Via Colori 2010
The cute toy factor also made me know this had to be one of my entries!

Since the contest is going to continue until the end of the year I won’t give away all my cards but here are a few other shots which may or may not have been entered:

Houston Via Colori 2010

Houston Via Colori 2010

Houston Via Colori 2010

Houston Via Colori 2010

Houston Via Colori 2010

Leave a Reply

